Review of 2012 Goals

As we move into 2013, I want to review my goals for 2012 and see where I met my mark, and where I missed the boat.  It was a great year, although I think that some of my takeaways from this are that I am good at improving on my strengths, and not as great at trying to work on my weaknesses.  So I’m going to refocus on that and also cut myself some slack!

Here were my goals for 2012:

1. Get my Om on. Fail.  I went to yoga maybe 6 times this year.  So I’m averaging 1 every two months.  Time to adjust the goal.  (Hilarious thing is that when I think about my long term dreams, I’d love to become a yoga instructor! Apparently one who doesn’t like doing yoga! Maybe I’ll get more into it if I can’t do triathlon or running as much) 

2. Tri More. Complete 4 triathlons this year – 2 sprint, 2 olympic distance. I did three triathlons. Two sprint & 1 Olympic Distance.  Mostly check.

3. Join a club.  Check.  This was a great decision. I’ve met a lot of cool people through having joined the Chicago Tri Club!  More about my most recent training activities with them soon!

4. Get faster. Check.  I PR’ed at every distance I ran this year.  Not a bad deal.

5. Resist the marathon until late 2012 or 2013. I ran the Chicago Marathon in October 2012.  Sub 5:00, but not in my sub 4:45. Check.

6. Be an awesome relay team member.  Check.  I had a blast at Ragnar this year and am looking forward to being a Ragnar Ambassador for Madison-to-Chicago 2013!

7. Learn how to change a flat tire. Check.  I attended a clinic, and changed Mike’s tire (not a flat)  but more practice is needed.

8. Work on getting Michelle Obama’s arms. I’d really love to have some definition to my arms, particularly as I walk down the aisle at the end of April. Other strength sub-goals:  accomplish a four minute plank and complete 20 real push-ups in a row.  Not quite check. I wasn’t thrilled with my arm definition (or lack thereof) at my wedding.  And as I moved into triathlon season, focused strength training kind of fell by the wayside.  

9. Complete a “Post Card Challenge.”  Fail.  

10. Participate in a bike-specific event. Check!  Venus de Miles was a great, women-focused ride! And I met a few new bloggers!

11. Get more in touch with my creative side. Does Pinterest count?  Otherwise I did some crafting for the wedding, and some baking recently.

12. Cook some new dishes.  Not as many as I would have liked. But soup was pretty good!

13. When I do marathon training again: Put in several 30 mile weeks and one 35 mile week for runs. I ran 4 30 mile weeks as part of the Chicago Marathon training, but the highest week was just 35 miles.  Mostly check.

14. Try Cross-Fit. No check yet on this.

15. Replace the words “stressed” and “overwhelmed” with “excitingly busy” – And mean it! Check!!!!

16. Try out and understand heart rate zone training.  I’ve worn my heart rate monitor, but haven’t really figured out how to use it to guide training… half-check.

17. Be as good of a fiancee’ and wife that I can be. I’ve been working at it!  I generally do pretty well, and I’m lucky to have as great a husband as I do!

2 thoughts on “Review of 2012 Goals

Leave a Reply

