Weekly Workout Round Up–Week 14 & Bastille Day 8K Report

My goals for this past week (July 9-15) were: 

  • Monday:  5 miles Easy (AM) + Strength (30 Min – PM)
  • Tuesday:  Stroke’n’Stride Open Water Swim
  • Wednesday: 50 min Spin Class + 1 mi brick
  • Thurs:  5 miles – Bastille Day 8K
  • Friday: 2 miles + Easy Bike Ride (without socks. Practice U-Turns, taking hydration on the run. Practice opening & taking from bento box as needed, or gu’s taped to the handlebars).
  • Saturday: 11 miles – hopefully at least 6 with CES. 
  • Sunday: Open Water Swim Clinic + Bike Ride to 63rd Street Beach

What actually happened:

  • Monday: 30 min Strength + 5.5 miles Easy (PM)
  • Tuesday: Rest
  • Wednesday: 30 min Strength
  • Thurs: 5 miles – Bastille Day 8K  46:53
  • Friday: Easy Bike Ride (without socks. Practice U-Turns, taking hydration on the run. Practice opening & taking from bento box as needed, or gu’s taped to the handlebars).
  • Saturday: 13 miles pacing for CES at an overall 10:40 pace.
  • Sunday: Open Water Swim Clinic

Overall I’m pretty happy with my week. I didn’t get in everything I was hoping for, but I also took the rest when I needed it. I could work better at getting enough sleep during the week, but I’ve been enjoying watching the Tour de France! 

Bastille  Day 8K Race Report:

  • This is a Chicago evening race that I’ve wanted to do for several years now. I’m happy I did it, and ran it with Anna, a  friend from CES! 
  • It is a crowded Lincoln Park race, so it’s challenging to do well.  It was very dusty – I felt a film of dust covering my throat. 
  • I forgot my Garmin for this race, so I ran “naked,” and tried to figure out my splits from the timing clocks. I estimated several 9:30 miles, which is about right for a 9:25 overall pace on the 8K.
  • I got a cramp at the same spot near the finish as at the Turkey Trot. Is it all in my head? I think I did a better job pushing through this year.
  • The Post Race party took place at the Nature Museum. We tried to go in, but there was a ridiculous line just to get upstairs where the party was.  I didn’t know we were missing Britt’s win!  Mike, Anna & I chilled outside for a while, and then Mike & I went out for some delicious vegan food at Native Foods Café

image

3 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Round Up–Week 14 & Bastille Day 8K Report

  1. Pingback: Bike Exhibit at Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum | Lauren Runs

Leave a Reply

