Summer Punch List

Following in the fashion of My Life’s List, I wanted to come up with my Summer 2012 To Do List.  I find using the term “punch list” to be a bit more effective.  Here goes:

  • Happy hour along the river
  • Go to the beach
  • Eat dinner out on the deck (yes, it overlooks a dumpster, but it’s our deck)
  • Go to the farmer’s market
  • See 16 Candles at a street festival
  • Drink some sangria
  • Go kayaking in Chicago
  • Have some fro-yo
  • Go on a bicycle-specific event – Bike the Drive was this past weekend
  • Keep up with my marathon training
  • Go to a baseball game
  • Take a nap outdoors
  • Enjoy some outdoor dining in Chicago
  • Have a lobster roll (yes, maybe just in Chicago – Lillie’s Q or GT Fish & Oyster)
  • Don’t kill myself at the Olympic triathlon at the end of the summer
  • Get a pool membership to the Chicago Park District
  • Read a book outside
  • Bicycle to brunch
  • Spend some time downtown exploring like a tourist
  • Grill something
  • Eat a pupusa
9 thoughts on “Summer Punch List

  1. carybear21

    Yay! I love this. Maybe I’ll run into you at a 16 Candles show. 🙂

    Also, I just got back from a nighttime kayak tour with Urban Kayaks tonight (blog post coming soon!), and I HIGHLY recommend it. The guys who started it are just a couple of young brothers who love kayaking and wanted to share their sport with others. Tonight was the fireworks tour, but they also have daytime tours.

    Good luck with your list!

    Reply
  2. Erin

    I need to make a list like this, too. I feel like I need to take better advantage of the city. But what, exactly, is this whole “See 16 Candles at a street festival” thing? I’m curious!

    Reply
    1. Lauren Post author

      16 Candles is a Chicago-based 80’s cover band that plays at a lot of street festivals. And as I think about it, the only indoor music events I’ve been to have all also featured 16 Candles. They’re fun to dance to — and you HAVE to visit some of the street festivals now that you’re in the city!

      Reply
  3. Lil :)

    I want in on some of these if you are looking for company!!

    Maybe you should make some sangria with that wine you have left over…..i think that’s a great idea!!

    I’ll swing by for the tasting 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

