Turkey Trot 2011

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving day!

I gave thanks for my ability to run, and for my health, by running in the Chicago Turkey Trot yesterday in Lincoln Park.  It’s a fun run, with many people showing up to do something active on this holiday known for eating and watching football.

The race starts on Cannon Drive, and then switches onto the paths within Lincoln Park near the Zoo.  With so many people, the course gets more crowded as you continue, and even with clear weather we had to navigate among mud puddles from a rain a few days earlier.  I definitely noticed that my pace got slower after mile 2, which is when the path turns to dirt and people are jumping around puddles and running along the grass to the side of the path. 

I ended up running a 48:55, just a few seconds off of my personal record. I was a little bummed that if I had pushed through my side stitch, I could have PR’ed, but also – I did run easily enough for most of the race – and walked a bit at the end, and came that close to PR’ing.  So that’s good.

Splits:

  • Mile 1 – 9:27
  • Mile 2 – 9:39
  • Mile 3 – 9:59
  • Mile 4: 9:39
  • Mile 4-4.8 (before cramp):  9:48 pace
  • Mile 4.8-5 (cramp to finish):  11:23 pace

 

I’m thankful for such a beautiful day out both yesterday and today.  Today I started with a 3.25 mile run and we’re off to do some errands!

5 thoughts on “Turkey Trot 2011

    1. Lauren Post author

      Thanks! I have to fiddle with my Garmin some more… I wasn’t really looking at my overall time, which might have motivated me some too!

      Reply
  1. Pingback: A little late, but everyone likes some turkey leftovers | Lauren Runs

Leave a Reply

