How to Run a Better Fall Marathon

I can’t get my mind off of marathon training! It’s something I love!  And I recently got this article emailed to me, and want to share with everyone.  Especially ME – these are tips for your next (currently unscheduled) marathon training program:

http://www.active.com/running/Articles/3-Ways-to-Run-a-Better-Fall-Marathon.htm

1. Do a second weekly longer run.  This would be great for me. I love distance, I just need to make the time & will for this.

2. Run more hills.  Probably helpful.  Unless I’ve done a group run, I have not tried any hill running.  Get thee to the Lincoln Park Zoo! 

3. Finish Fast.  The idea:  Do your long run, and try to run the last 1-3 miles at a faster pace than the first 10-17 miles.  Would help me.

7 thoughts on “How to Run a Better Fall Marathon

  1. Erin

    Argh! It drives me crazy that these training plan ideas always include hill workouts. Where am I supposed to find “real” hills?! I asked once at the running store in Forest Park and they laughed at me. Several of my running club members go out to the Morton Arboretum to do hills but I hate having to drive miles and miles every weekend just to run. Plus, it costs money to get in. Ahhh, the dilemmas of living in a flat state.

    The other two ideas are great, though!

    Reply
    1. Lauren Post author

      I know! There’s this one hill near the south part of the Lincoln Park Zoo. It’s not super long (100m at most) but it’s more than anything else around!

      Reply
  2. Belle

    I have heard of a lot of runners going out to Barrington to run hills. I am going to be training for Boston over the winter and might try getting a group out there (safety in numbers, right…and lower gas costs).
    AB

    Reply
    1. Lauren Post author

      Let me know as that gets going! I’d love to participate, and honored to participate in Boston marathon training!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

