Bloomingdale! Urban Trail Running

This morning I got made the opportunity to run on the Bloomingdale Trail, an elevated path that goes through Bucktown, Logan Square and Humboldt Park (and likely more) neighboarhoods.

See the elevated path up there?

The Bloomingdale Trail is currently not completely open for access, so it’s a bit challenging, risky, thrilling to get up there. Needless to say, it’s not just as easy as climbing steps, but the access point I found wasn’t too hard to get in through.  It’s an abandoned railway line that I think was in use up until the 1980’s.  It’s still privately owned, and there are neighborhood efforts to have the trail clean up and officially opened up to the public. 

Once up, you’re running above the streets and it was glorious not to have to worry about stop lights, cars, or sidewalks.  It’s a packed trail that has gravel and broken glass shiny gravel in some areas, so I did have to watch my footing.  If you trip, the potential is not only glass shards in your knees, but potentially also tetanus?  Get your boosters, everyone! 

Overall it was a beautiful spot to go run.  I was scoping it out as a potential photo shoot location, and it quite meets the needs! 

Look at this photo taken (by a photographer) (and not of me):

http://theinvertedforest.blogspot.com/2010/08/chicago-trip-bloomingdale-trail.html 

4 miles total – .5 mile to get onto the trail, 1.5 miles on the trail, and then back!  A great run (although slower than normal!) for a cool fall morning. 

And it’s off to carbo-load for my Fox Valley Marathon this weekend!  

7 thoughts on “Bloomingdale! Urban Trail Running

  1. Erin

    That is so awesome! What a fun and unique place to run. I hope they do get it opened to the public. Although, I bet right now it’s not very busy since it’s sort of challenging to get up there.

    And GOOD LUCK this weekend! I have several running group friends running Fox Valley so I’ll be thinking of all of you.

    Reply
    1. Lauren Post author

      There’s a group (Friends of the Bloomingdale Trail) that have been working since 2003 to get the trail officially opened and “refurbished.” I’ve seen some pictures of the design that’s planned, and it looks beautiful!

      Thanks for the marathon wishes!

      Reply
    1. Lauren Post author

      I’ve known about the trail for a while (I don’t live too far, so I’ve seen it), but it’s technically not open to the public and there are no official or super-easy ways to get up there. The access points also change since their not official. When I first went up there two years ago, the access point was a ladder getting up there. Ladder was taken away one day, and access point gone.

      Supposedly there’s a pretty easy access point out of Humboldt Park/Logan Square area, but I’ve never made it over there as that’s the other end of the trail from where I live.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

