A good taper run

I guess it’s not really 3 weeks out anymore, as my marathon is less than 2 weeks away!  But this has been a good weekend, with a good taper run at the end of it!  A short recap of my weekend:

Saturday:  meant to go run, decided weather report meant me to run on Monday when it’d be 30 degrees cooler.  Ended up making banana bread and going to Bikram yoga.  Had some excellent fake-crab scampi with our homegrown cherry tomatoes! Cocktails were thwarted by a post-carb coma.

Sunday: had a nice, cool bike ride with Courtney and then gabbed over brunch!  I had meant to go to a hash run, but was feeling incredibly sore (most likely from yoga) that I wanted to rest up for my taper run.  Naptime and then some chillaxing.  A calm evening, with a visit from a friend in a pilot suit!

Monday: I meant to wake up early, but enjoyed snuggling and chilling out in the cool weather!  Called home to wish my mama a happy birthday and then headed out for a lovely afternoon run! 

My run turned out much better than previous long runs.  It was hard not to go longer just to say that I did a successful long long run.  I did 14.6 miles, and while I tried to rein it into my marathon goal pace (at least for the first 10 miles), looking back at my Garmin indicates that I ran faster than an 11:27 pace (which would translate to 5 hour marathon finish time) for only 4 or 5 of the 14+ miles.  Look at that last mile & a half!

  • Mile 1 – 11:08
  • Mile 2 – 11:28
  • Mile 3 – 11:39
  • Mile 4 – 11:43
  • Mile 5 – 11:54
  • Mile 6 – 11:20
  • Mile 7 – 11:10
  • Mile 8 – 11:26
  • Mile 9 – 11:11
  • Mile 10 – 11:02
  • Mile 11 – 10:53
  • Mile 12 – 11:02
  • Mile 13 – 11:11
  • Mile 14 – 10:30
  • Mile 14-14.6 – 6:04 (or 9:59 pace)

Now it’s time to visualize & write out my race plan…

2 thoughts on “A good taper run

Leave a Reply

