Mish-Mash for Wednesday

Inspirational Quotes:

Tricia from Endurance is only Physical included this quote in a recent post about dishwashing:

“Success isn’t a destination, it’s a journey”

Cycling:  I’ve been cycling to work for two of the last 3 days (over the last 3 weeks) that I’ve been in the office.  I learned of an interesting Bike v/s Drive Calculator from Get Rich Slowly.  My two cents:

  • M & I just reduced down to one car only.  Not too bad. 
  • Cabs & Bus Fare are only calculated if  you bike.  For urban dwellers (or at least me) – I may take fewer bus rides and drives because of my bike, but I don’t think it’s ever going to replace the situation where I’ve been taking cab rides.  I cab it when:  I’m dressed up and/or going downtown where parking is more expensive than 2 cabs, after being out at a bar.  I’m not likely to replace any of those cab situations with taking a bike… especially not at midnight in Chicago after a drink or few! 

Upcoming Events I’m Planning on / About to Sign Up for:

I’ve missed the opportunity to meet some people at recent running events because I didn’t do enough planning in advance, so I’m putting my schedule further out of what races I’m looking toward:

These are the ones on the calendar, but it looks a bit full to me!  I may go through an decide but you can help me out!  Let me know if you’re participating in any of these events or if you’d like to meet up at them!  Drop me a line either in the Comments or by email at laurenrunschicago@gmail.com to let me know if you’re planning to do any of these events and we can plan a meetup! 

Has anyone done the Chicago Triathlon? Is it as crazy of an event as it sounds from the sheer ##s of people participating?

6 thoughts on “Mish-Mash for Wednesday

  1. Erin

    I’m doing the Just Book It 5K, too! Well, of course Kim recruited me 🙂

    I wish I could bike to work on a regular basis. It’s 10 miles and we have a shower at my office but the route goes through some really rough neighborhoods and I’ve been told by other cyclists that I shouldn’t ride alone.

    Reply
  2. bobbi

    YAY!!! I’ll be at the “just book it” 5k – not sure if I’m running it or working it yet – and I’d love to meet you 🙂

    Reply
  3. Courtney

    I really want to do the race on July 17th but I have a wedding shower that day and it would just be cutting it too close! 😦 The South Shore Sprint Triathlon looks pretty cool but why do these races have to be so darn expensive?! I need to win the lottery

    Reply
  4. kilax

    Yay! I am happy you are doing Just Book It! Like Bobbi, I am not sure if I get to run or have to volunteer. But we should all hang out afterward 🙂 I hope I am around for Fox Valley so I can come cheer you on!

    Reply
  5. Lil :)

    I’m doing the race on the 17th as well!! I’d miss you and would love to see you!!! I see you are running a marathon in St.Charles, that is RIGHT by me…well not really but it’s not too far, i’ll come cheer you on!! I’m writing it on my calendar right now 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

