Post Illinois Marathon

Wow, I knew that post marathon recovery would be hard, but didn’t know it’d be this hard!  Following my Saturday marathon I had sore and dealing with a nagging knee pain from the race.  I woke up Sunday morning and felt pretty good, but by Sunday evening, I was starting to break down a bit.  My throat had been sore on Friday and Saturday durign the race, but by Sunday evening this had grown to into a full-fledged cold! Boo!

Monday I took easy as a sick day to rest & also get my PT referral started.  Today I’m taking pretty easy as well, with a work from home day.  It’s been weird that when I’ve got a cold, my appetite is 0!  What am I going to do about reverse carb-loading? I’ve been trying to munch on snacks, anything that seems appealing, and had a smoothie last night for some fruits, spinach & vitamins. 

I thought I’d share some photos since I realized I wrote my race report without any photos included!

Expo & Shirt Exchange Zone

IMG_1667

IMG_1669

IMG_1666

If you got a shirt that wasn’t the right size, you could put your name and phone # on a post-it for someone else to help exchange.  For example, “M ISO L 312-222-222” We joked that some of our single friends should pick the post-its of the size men or women that they wanted to pick up! 

Race Day:

At the Illini Stadium, Mike was the designated photographer.

IMG_1683

Peter (black & white shirt) and Dave (orange shirt) finishing their marathon! Go guys!

IMG_1684

IMG_1685

IMG_1686

IMG_1688

Apparently my hair won’t stay put after 5:22! 

 

Post Marathon Yoga:

IMG_1689

IMG_1692

IMG_1694

My sad attempt at downward dog post-marathon.  Please don’t judge!

One thought on “Post Illinois Marathon

  1. Pingback: Vacation!! And an upcoming half marathon | Lauren Runs

Leave a Reply

