Rational

I’ve been spending the last few days trying to calm myself before the Illinois Marathon.  I’m not sure why I’m so nervous!  Yes, I’ve been having some knee issues. But I’ve also had a great time in my training.  I’ve gotten to know new people:

  • marathon training buddy Lilian
  • other CES runners: Joanne, Tim, Rhonda, Erica, Michael, and many others!
  • new yoga blend (blogger friend): Kim 

I’ve also seen myself push harder than before.  I’m developing new goals and areas of interest. 

I do have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow so I can have a Physical Therapy referral for after the marathon.  In hindsight, I wish I had been proactive about this 6 weeks ago, when the knee first started acting up.

Today, I ran 4.5 miles in my “new” marathon shoes, the Saucony’s that I spent some time wearing from December to February.  Although the shoes felt different than the Brooks, I did not have any knee pain during the entire run.  And that’s a big change from my last 3 runs (in taper) where I began to feel pain by mile 2.5.  I didn’t have early onset pain like that during my training long runs, but I did have pain at the ends of the runs.  We’ll see about what happens  in these shoes. 

Off to bed to keep the nerves calmed…

One thought on “Rational

  1. kilax

    I am happy the shoes felt good! Phew! And you got this. Just get out there and enjoy it!!! 🙂

    And thanks for including me on your list! I am excited for the next time I get to see you… hopefully this weekend!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

