Final LONG run for Illinois Marathon!

On Saturday I ran my final long run for the Illinois Marathon on April 30!  I started out at 7 AM to start off my second 20 mile run… only this time around I didn’t have my friend Lilian to accompany me (she was off to St. Louis for her marathon this past weekend!).

If you’re still catching up, here are some of my other key marathon training runs:

7AM – leave home for CES Spring Training.  Just under two miles there

  • Mile 1 – 11:23
  • Mile 2 – 12:21

7:45 AM – CES group departs for our 12 mile run! Out to the lakefront and up north!

  • Mile 3 – 10:52
  • Mile 4 – 10:49
  • Mile 5 – 10:40
  • Mile 6 – 10:16
  • Mile 7 – 10:44
  • Mile 8 – 11:37  — and turnaround point at Hollywood Ave (end of the Lakeshore path to the north)
  • Mile 9 – 11:25
  • Mile 10 – 11:04
  • Mile 11 – 10:56
  • Mile 12 – 11:09
  • Mile 13 – 11:16
  • Mile 14 – 12:25

Then I left the group and continued back onto the lakefront path but headed south.  It was at the suggestion of one of my fellow runners, but I hadn’t considered the impact of the uneven cement (torn up from the lake & freezing) and the uneven grade on parts of that path.  My knee began to bother me a bit, mostly from running on a sideways incline 😦

  • Mile 15 – 11:55
  • Mile 16 – 14:34
  • Mile 17 – 12:27

Then I headed back to the park south of the Lincoln Park Zoo. I was concerned about running home on sidewalk, so I just ran loops on the dirt trails around the park and it’s baseball & soccer fields. 

  • Mile 18 – 12:27
  • Mile 19 – 12:17
  • Mile 20 – 12:08

I ended up my run headed toward the bus stop to take me home.  I ran the last 10th of a mile up and down that sidewalk, and completed the 20 miles just in time for the bus to pull up!  Perfect timing!

It’s a little slower than my first 20 miler, but I think that I’m well positioned for my marathon in LESS Than A Month!  It’s time to TAPER!!!

Any Taper Tips out there? 

I’ll be posting hopefully again soon with some news & photos from the Shamrock Shuffle! 

3 thoughts on “Final LONG run for Illinois Marathon!

  1. Courtney

    You are gonna rock this marathon! Great job on getting your final long run done. I hope we’ll be able to meet up while we are down there. Let me know if you can come to the blogger dinner 🙂

    Reply
  2. kilax

    Awesome 20-miler! I have only run on the lakefront path a few times, but I know it is uneven just north of Navy Pier… is that where you were? Ouch?

    Taper tips? I have only tapered for a marathon once! Ha ha. Keep busy so you don’t lose your mind. How is that tip? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

