Finishing

Yesterday I had 18 miles on the plan for my long run, and only ended up finishing 16. I was getting some knee pain and I don’t want to exacerbate any injuries.  First, I ran 2 mi to Piper’s Alley, then ran 6 miles with the CES Spring Training group.  Lilian and I ran another 6 miles together, and then I ran 2 miles home. I had planned on then running another 2 miles in Wicker Park, but decided to take it easy and not risk injury.

I’m glad I did… after icing and lots of stretching, foam rolling, and a walk to our favorite Chinese takeout restaurant last night, I am feeling much better. 

I just saw this video clip, the finish of the marathon of an Ironman, and am so glad that I’m taking care of myself.  This is another video clip that makes me wonder if I should ever want to train for & complete an Ironman:

Finishing the Ironman–2.4 mi swim, 112 mi bike, 26.2 mi run

Do you ever get knee pain? This is new for me.  What tricks for staying injury free do you have?

My 16 mile run:

  • Mile 1: 10:22
  • Mile 2: 10:45
  • Mile 3: 10:35 (start of 6 miles with CES)
  • Mile 4: 10:36
  • Mile 5: 10:54
  • Mile 6: 10:02
  • Mile 7: 11:15 (with wind)
  • Mile 8: 11:00 (with wind)
  • Mile 9: 12:18
  • Mile 10: 13:24 (walk break, GU)
  • Mile 11: 11:44
  • Mile 12: 12:36
  • Mile 13: 12:13
  • Mile 14: 12:35
  • Mile 15: 12:15
  • Mile 16: 12.36
One thought on “Finishing

  1. Pingback: Epic 20 Miler | Lauren Runs

Leave a Reply

