Yak Trax & Quick Runs

Sometimes you can’t get out and run for what you’d planned.  I had a volunteer meeting last night and didn’t have time between work & the meeting for a 3 mile run as my training schedule dictated.  So what did I do?

I ran for the time I had. After I factored in some time to change & clean up, I only had 20 minutes or so to run.  So I ran for 15 (got ready to run in 5) and got in a short run.  I ran after not having run for 2 days, so even a short 1.2 mile run was better than nothing. For me, I really think that sticking to the schedule even if not to the distance is important.  I don’t feel very good – and my muscles start to feel itchy – if I go more than a few days without running.  Some run is better than no run. 

It snowed out, so I got to wear my new Yak Trax (Thank you Katie for the xmas gift) for the first time! They definitely made my feet feel more stable on the slick & snowy ground than if I had just worn my sneakers.  Definitely a good thing. Smile 

Tonight I have a group run, so I’m looking forward to getting a little more miles in.  Later on this week we’ll see how I’m doing and maybe I’ll make up the 1.8 miles that I missed by having a short run sometime. 

Leave a Reply

