Happy New Year & My BHAG 2011 Goals

As I look toward the coming year, I want to put down on paper blog-o-sphere my Big Hairy Audacious Goals for twenty-eleven.  One site that has some suggestions (as if you need any!) is on Lifehack. Another site that I found helpful was from the Harvard HealthBeat. Thanks 94 monkeys!

In the middle of 2010, these were my lifetime/long term goals:

  • Get into habit of Bikram Yoga 2 x week, then 3x week by end of year. This gets at my desire to practice yoga more regularly. 
  • Travel regularly
  • Give generously to organizations that I believe in.
  • Strengthen friendships & relationships

So for 2011, I am setting the following goals:

  • Personal Finance:
    • Pay off my student loans.
    • Save for 2 vacations (!)
  • Physical Endeavors:  
    • Successfully train for my marathon on 4/30. 
    • Complete an Olympic distance triathlon, and 1-2 sprint distance triathlons
    • Improve on my times in the 8K, 10K, half-marathon distances
  • Personal:
    • Organize a get-together of friends once every few months, ideally with one being aimed at the great friends I made in college.
    • Make yoga a weekly if not more frequent habit.  Do a Yoga Challenge. 
    • Achieve a lower body fat percentage.  I’d like to look a little hotter and not so “she might die!” at the end of races! I have a body fat calculation on my scale, but I’m not sure how accurate it is.  More research is needed on if this is accurate, what is healthy, and developing a plan to get there.  I did get the “Racing Weight” book and have been reading this. Will likely post a review in 2011…
    • Make my home a more homey place.  I know this is vague, but I’m still trying to determine exactly what this means. I know some de-cluttering will be involved, but whether or not a living room remodel (or other room) is TBD…
  • Travel:
    • Plan a trip to Central America for 2011, look at fall deals for a long weekend in Europe or BsAs.
    • Plan for a trip in 2012 – long trip!  Create a dream board.

What am I going to do?

First off, monthly reviews of where I am with these.  I’ll post them somewhere prominent at home – (mirror?) and I am contemplating starting a daily goals notebook.  If I do that, I’d keep a copy of my year goals listed there.  My intent with a daily goals notebook would be to increase mindfulness on what I want to accomplish each day, and make sure that I’m making progress on things that are important to me – whatever that be for that day/week/month. 

The other thing that I really liked out of the Harvard HealthBeat was that you should consider what has been holding you back. Why haven’t I gotten faster? Why haven’t I gotten more fit, or increased my savings more? Thinking through this gets you to the scarier reality of why you’re consciously thinking about this as a goal.  Some might not be too bad. But others – what is holding you back? What will you give up in order to accomplish this?

What are your goals or resolutions for the new year?  What are you most excited about? What are you most scared about?

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year & My BHAG 2011 Goals

    1. Lauren Post author

      Nope – this would be my first! I’m super-excited about it. I did swimming in high school, so I’m not as concerned about that as I am about the bike… I forsee some spin classes in my future! (at least until it’s warm & dry enough to bike outside again in Chicago…)

      Reply
      1. Amy

        I did my first (and only, so far) tri in July 2009, and it was fantastic. Such a great rush! I want to do 2 or 3 this year (while still balancing my financial goals by not signing up for too many races).

        My husband is an avid cyclist, which is both nice (he knows all about technique & bike repair) and annoying (he’s so fast & skilled that it’s not much fun to ride together), so I do bike more than I used to, but that’s definitely my weakest leg now that I’m a decent swimmer. (I was a TERRIBLE swimmer when I did my first tri – can’t wait to blow that time out of the water, so to speak!)

  1. Pingback: Review of my 2011 Goals | Lauren Runs

Leave a Reply

