Urbana-Champaign, Here I Come!

image

I’ve committed! To the Urbana-Champaign Illinois Marathon on April 30, 2011.  Training plan officially starts tomorrow.  I’m excited for this for a few reasons:

1. I get to challenge myself at the marathon distance again. I ran the Chicago Marathon in 2006, and finished with a  time of 5:45. I then took off 2 years from running, and have been getting back into it for the last 2 and a half years.

2. I’ve run 5 half marathons this year, and I’m interested in seeing how I take to the marathon distance training with my new level of fitness. 

3. I didn’t follow my TNT training plan the best in 2006, and I’d like to see what I can do when I follow a training plan that I tweak, knowing my body, knowing my limits. 

TODAY:

Washington DC is missing a major snowstorm, and I made it out for an 8 mile run before the snow started.  This is the longest run I’ve done since the Rock’n’Roll Las Vegas Half Marathon that I ran on Dec 5.  I’m also participating in the Holiday Bootie Buster Challenge to maintain fitness and healthy habits over the holidays, so this was a good boost in the right direction. Now onto eat more fruits & veggies…

2 thoughts on “Urbana-Champaign, Here I Come!

Leave a Reply

