One Step After Another

The theme from yesterday & today’s runs was “One Step After Another.”  Last week I didn’t run from Monday to Saturday.  It was a busy week, getting things taken care of at work before the holidays, and getting ready for the holidays!  And it was cold. 

It was still cold on Sunday. That’s probably not going to change anytime soon, seeing as it’s winter in Chicago. So I had to go run.  Yesterday I planned initially on only going out for a 4-5 mile run, just to the park and back.  But as I got out running, I realized how nice & comfortable it was (running, not the weather). This route that I’ve taken many times before, many times this summer, I haven’t run in 2 months since I started the CES Winter Warriors program and began doing 2 runs a week with them.  It was familiar, and comfortable, and I wanted to see what the rest of the route was like in winter. 

I continued onward, toward the Lincoln Park Zoo, still with plans to turn around at the zoo.  But as I approached, I wanted to go further. I wanted to see what the lakefront path looked like. 

Lakefront Path report:  closed at Fullerton heading south.  Fullerton headed north was slushy for the first quarter mile, and was clear through to the Diversey bridge. I didn’t go past the bridge, but it looked clear beyond.

Then I headed back… not too bad of a run although it was certainly not quite as fun when you’re getting tired, cold & wet.  My jacket isn’t letting moisture escape quite as well as I’d like, so even though I had a wicking shirt, it stayed wet because of my windproof jacket.  I may have to re-think that option.

Tonight’s run was similar.  M cajoled me out of the house to go for my run, which I very much appreciate! I only planned on running a very short distance, maybe a mile and a half, and then stopping at a local store to pick up a quick xmas gift.  But then I decided to go a bit furhter, and ran an extra mile! 

My lesson learned?  Just get out the door and then you’ll go further!  Given my ongoing struggles with getting out the door, I think that’s really true.  Maybe I should consider working on a goal to improve my frequency of running, even if it’s just a short mile? 

Today’s #Reverb10 prompt:  Beyond avoidance. What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?)

I have been meaning to complete a professional certification (PMP) that will help to position me better for future job searches & salary negotiations.  I’ve completed all of the requirements except the test, which I have put off on studying developing a study plan due to all sorts of life reasons.  Too much work, want to focus on running, don’t want the extra stress. 

I recently completed a separate certification test that was less intimidating than I had thought! It was certainly less strenuous than I expect the PMP exam to be, but has also helped me to realize that I still have my study skills & test-taking skillz from several years ago.  I just need to put together my study plan, do the required reading, take the practice tests, and go from there.  Goal is on the table for 2011. 

2 thoughts on “One Step After Another

  1. Amy

    I 100% agree that getting out the door is the hardest part of running. There are so many excuses (especially when it’s wet and/or cold out). I often find (found?) myself doing the same thing – running further than planned because once I started, I didn’t want to stop. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Lauren Post author

      Thanks! One thing that I’ve been doing this week – on vacation – is making sure I run each day. I know that I couldn’t keep this up *in real life* but is something to get me out there on holiday, regardless of how cold it is. Happy holidays!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

