Potpurri & Marathon Plans

Lots of things going on in my head.  I just got back from Las Vegas yesterday after running the Rock’n’Roll Las Vegas Half Marathon

Reverb10 – Reverb10 is an online initiative to reflect on this past year and begin to manifest what’s next. I’m a little late joining the game, so catch up with me! 

12/1 – ONE WORD – I’d have to go with BUSYBEE for this year. I have done a lot of different things, busy both at work, running, and at home.  For 2011, I think I’d like my word to be FLEXIBILITY.  I want to increase my flexibility – both physically and mentally. Yoga sounds like it’s on the agenda.

12/2 – Writing – What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing, and what can you do to eliminate it? I spend a lot of time browsing around & reading.  Internet, books, magazines.  I could eliminate some, but it takes a while for my ideas to come to something that can be verbalized. I spend this time pondering.  What else? Perhaps I could do less at work? Or bring a journal around with me?

12/3 – Moment – The moment (s) I have felt most alive this year have truly been around running.  The last mile of the Madison Mini-Marathon, and much of the course – and finish of Las Vegas, I felt incredibly alive.  A mixture of emotions: exhaustion, pride, anticipation (of my speedy finish), joy, and even pain. The emotions have run through such a gamut, that this is truly when I felt so alive. At the end of the LV half marathon this weekend, I was so hurting and disoriented, but also happy. A few minutes later, I’m surrounded by family and friends. It was great.

Rest of Las Vegas Trip

The remainder of the LV trip post-half marathon was great. We saw shows (Cirque du Soleil! and Big Elvis), ate at the buffet at the Bellagio, walked around a “big” frozen drink, did some shopping, and had some of the best tapas around (tortilla espanola was to die for!).  And my spa day on Monday wasn’t anything to complain about either – the Aria spa was super-swank! 

What’s Next?

Next up in my mind is thinking about what I’ve got going on next year.  M gave me a great gift for my birthday, the Triathlete’s Bible, and I’ve been perusing it. While it’s not necessarily something to read cover-to-cover, it’s got a lot of thorough information. Most of what I’ve been reading has been around planning a proper training calendar.  First thing is to plan your main events. 

As I began to plan my main events, I realized a lot was geared toward end of summer and fall. I hope to do a triathlon or 2 next year, and a marathon too.  I had initially thought of the Chicago Marathon, but I have recently been planning for something in the spring.  Why?

A spring marathon has a few advantages:

  1. It won’t be super-hot yet.  Chicago has recently had some hot marathon days, and that means more work—and slower times—for racers.  Check out this graph for more details on race temperatures & times.
  2. A fall marathon means I’m thinking about it all year. 10 more months of thinking, planning, training. Not that I want to “get it over with,” but I’d rather just do it.
  3. I think we’re going to a friend’s wedding on Chi-marathon day.  It’s M’s cousin, and I wouldn’t want to show up all stiff from just having run the race! (or not be able to enjoy the wedding if it’s Saturday evening).
  4. I could potentially enter the NYC Marathon lottery w/ a co-worker, and not be sad if I don’t make it.

I’m pretty sure I’ll sign up for the Illinois Marathon on 4/30.  It’s a Saturday, but I’ve begun looking at training plans already. 

Who else is running a spring marathon? Any training buddies out there? Do you train on your own or with a group?

Leave a Reply

