Speedwork love!

Tonight I ran my first official speedwork workout!  At the CES Winter Warriors we have moved into speedwork for our Wednesday workouts.  Although I took it relatively easy, it was a “fun” workout in that it’s not all exactly the same pace of running.  Here was today’s workout:

  • 10 minute warm-up – easy pace
  • 6 – 1/4 mile repeats.  You run a quarter-mile at 5K pace, and then slow jog/walk to recover for the next 1/4 mile.
  • 10 minute cool-down (i.e. run back to the store to warm up!)

It was COLD out, 30 degrees and windy, but other than that I really enjoyed this workout! It was a nice change from the more steady-pace runs that I’m used to. Although I don’t feel like I really got “warmed up” until we were back at Fleet Feet later!

Tonight’s speedwork, as well as my thinking about how to get out running more when I’m not meeting with CES, made me think of Eri-thon! Erin is another Chicago runner whose blog I’ve been following for several months now and she channels the lunchtime running and was doing a lot of summer-time speed work.  Entertaining blog to read!

Anyway, I’m starting to prepare tonight for the big LV! I’ll be printing out my pace band, doing laundry, and checking the weather! 

One thought on “Speedwork love!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Speedwork love! | Lauren Runs -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

