Fall / Winter Training Plan

I had a great quick run with the Running Away Bucktown 5K Training program tonight!  Had a nice chat with a trainer about the importance of cross-training, and then we headed out for 3 miles! Met a nice lady named Helen who just completed the Chicago Half on Sunday. Way to go Helen!

I’ve been trying to figure out what my training/workout plan should be as we approach fall & winter.  Over the spring & summer I have been mostly running for exercise, and training for the half-marathon distance in particular!

This summer I did 4 half marathons:

It’s been a great summer, and I PR’ed at the Madison Mini!  After some time off from “training,” I’m now looking to put together a workout & training plan for the fall and winter.

Running-wise, here’s what I have coming up:

  • Bucktown 5K (Oct 3) – a great local race
  • Hot Chocolate 15K (Nov 6) – who doesn’t want hot chocolate after a race?
  • Vegas Rock’n’Roll Half Marathon (Dec 5) – first time to Vegas 🙂
  • Disney Princess Half Marathon (Feb 27, 2011)

Last winter, I didn’t really run at all. A few times on the treadmill.  The year before (much colder) I did run outside through the winter and had been consistent in training for an April half marathon until I had to re-direct my energy toward addressing a family emergency for several months.

So, this winter.  I’ve got a lot of things that I’m interested in trying out or strengthening a practice:   Running, Yoga, preparing myself for a triathlon next year (so cross-train in swimming & biking), doing the 30Day Shred for strength, trying out Cross-Fit.  Although I might like to, I can’t fit all of these in all at once given my schedule, and knowing myself (I need 1-2 days of rest each week, for me to mentally recharge).  Tonight’s talk with Brian helped me to cement that I really should spend more time on strengthening when it’s cold outside.  I’ve come up with the following plan:

ONGOING training plan.  I will plan to run 2-3 weekdays, plus one long run on the weekends.  In addition:

  • SEPT:  Get into the habit of going to Bikram Yoga once per week.
  • OCT:  Do the 30 Day Shred. Keep up with Yoga.
  • NOV:  Add Swim & Bike into the additional Day.  Need to find a swim and/or spin location.
  • DEC:  check out Cross-Fit. (my work is switching office locations, and I think there’s a couple options near our new location!)

I haven’t figured out what I’ll do yet for January/February/etc, but I think this is a good starting point.  The idea is that I’d do one or two days a week of the “add-on” activity (except the 30DS – I’d try to do that as many days as I can for 30 days).

What do you think? What workouts do you want to try?  How do you decide what to do when you have so many ideas?

One thought on “Fall / Winter Training Plan

Leave a Reply

